New Year’s weekend wrecks in Georgia kill 17


At least 17 people have died on Georgia’s roads over the long New Year’s holiday weekend.

The Georgia Department of Public Safety reports fatal wrecks have occurred in Dublin (3), Monroe County, Glynn County, Dekalb County (4), Cartersville, Thomasville, Atlanta, Gwinnett County (2), Brunswick, Clayton County, and Waycross.

No fatal crashes have been reported in Northeast Georgia since the holiday travel period began at 6 p.m. on Friday, December 30.

The 78-hour-long New Year’s holiday ends at 11:59 p.m. on Monday, January 2.


Teen escapes with minor injuries after flipping car on Hwy. 17

Print Friendly, PDF & Email