Herrin, McEntire, Foster elected to HEMC Board of Directors

Habersham EMC's Gail Welborn presents David Little of Sautee with $1,000 cash. Little won HEMC's prize drawing during the local cooperative's annual meeting Thursday, July 15, in Clarkesville.

More than 800 members and guests attended Habersham EMC’s 83rd Annual Meeting on Thursday, July 15, at the Habersham Ninth Grade Academy. Attendees enjoyed a barbecue meal, health fair, informational booths, and entertainment by Brian Free & Assurance.

HEMC President and CEO Bryan Ferguson focused on the cooperative’s Top 5 Keys to Success in his report: Safety, customer service, enterprise initiatives, people, and teamwork. According to Ferguson, these organizational foundations will shape the future of the cooperative. He also announced a proactive approach to avoid outages and increase reliability through the use of technology. In addition, Ferguson expressed a renewed commitment to community involvement.

HEMC members elected Jeff Herrin, Kenneth McEntire, and David Foster to the Board of Directors. The Board met immediately following the business session and elected the following officers: David Wall, Chairman; Dustin Hulsey, Vice-Chairman; and Billy Cantrell, Secretary/Treasurer.

All members who registered to vote in the Board of Directors election were entered into the door prize drawings. Members who voted absentee were eligible to win a $300 grand prize and those who voted at the meeting were entered into a drawing for a $1,000 grand prize.

Ronald Parham of Cornelia and David Little of Sautee were the grand prize winners.

Habersham EMC is a member-owned electric cooperative based in Clarkesville, Georgia. It serves more than 26,000 members with 3,800 miles of line in six Northeast Georgia counties including Habersham, Hall, Lumpkin, Rabun, Stephens, and White.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email